Lithuania is a country and the southernmost of Europe’s Baltic States, a former Soviet bloc nation bordering Poland, Latvia and Belarus.

Lithuania is a member of the European Union, the Council of Europe, a full member of the Eurozone, Schengen Agreement and NATO. It is also a member of the Nordic Investment Bank, and part of Nordic-Baltic cooperation of Northern European countries. The United Nations Human Development Index lists Lithuania as a “very high human development” country.

Capital: Vilnius

Population: 2.872 million (2016) World Bank

Currency: Euro